Which EU politicians refused to label Russia a sponsor of terror? | War news Russia-Ukraine

Many on the far right and some on the left rejected the symbolic move to declare Moscow a terrorist regime.

The European Parliament on Wednesday passed a resolution declaring Russia a “sponsor of terrorism” over its war in Ukraine.

“The deliberate attacks and atrocities committed by Russian forces and their proxies against civilians in Ukraine, the destruction of civilian infrastructure and other serious violations of international and humanitarian law constitute acts of terrorism and constitute war crimes,” the European Parliament said.

A total of 494 Members of the European Parliament (MEPS) voted in favor of the resolution, 58 were against and 44 abstained.

INTERACTIVE-EP vote on state-sponsored terrorism by Russia

The largely symbolic move is unlikely to have an impact, as the European Union – unlike the United States – does not have the legal framework to designate countries. On the other side of the Atlantic, the US list includes North Korea, Syria, Cuba and Iran.

The EU established its terror list in 2001, after the September 11 attacks in New York.

It includes people, groups and entities and is reviewed at least every six months.

ISIL (ISIS) and al-Qaeda armed groups are among those currently on the list.

Which members voted against the resolution?

Russia is the first country to be declared a state sponsor of terrorism by the European Parliament.

Members were not unanimous in their vote, however, with a larger section of parliament’s right-wing bloc opposing Russia’s association with terrorism.

Twenty-six members of the far-right Identity and Democracy political group voted against designating Russia as a sponsor of terrorism.

INTERACTIVE - Vote of the European Parliament on labeling Russia as a terrorist state

Here’s a breakdown of the votes by country, home country party, and member:

These French politicians who voted against the resolution are all members of the National Rally or Rassemblement National, led by Marine Le Pen.

  • Mathilde Androuet
  • Jordan Bardella
  • Aurelia Beigneux
  • Dominique’s photo
  • Anna Bruna
  • Patricia Chignon
  • Mary Dauchy
  • Jean-Paul Garraud
  • Catherine Griset
  • Jean-Francois Jalkh
  • France James
  • Virginia Jordan
  • Jean Lin Lacapelle
  • Gilles Lebreton
  • Thierry Mariani
  • Philippe Oliver
  • Andre Rouge

The following German politicians who voted against the resolution are all members of the far-right Alternative for Germany or Alternative für Deutschland (AfD) party.

  • Christine Andersen
  • Gunnar Beck
  • Nicholas feast
  • Maximilian Arm
  • Joachim Kuhs
  • Guido Reil
  • Bernard Zimniok

Czech MEPs, who are members of the populist Freedom and Direct Democracy party, or Freedom and Direct Democracy:

A member of the centre-right European Conservatives and Reformists Group voted against the resolution:

  • Emmanouil Fragkos, whose party in Greece is Greek Solution, or Elliniki Lusi-Greek Solution

Twelve members of the center-left Progressive Alliance of Socialists and Democrats voted against the resolution.

From Bulgaria – all with the centre-left Bulgarian Socialist Party:

  • Ivo Kristov
  • Tsvetelina Penkova
  • Sergei Stanishev
  • Peter Vitanova
  • Elena Yoncheva

From Germany – all with the Social Democratic Party of Germany or the Social Democratic Party of Germany (SPD), the party of Chancellor Olaf Scholz:

  • Joachim Schuster
  • Dietmar Koester

From Italy – these three politicians belong to Partito Democratico or the Democratic Party:

  • Peter Bartolo
  • Andrew Cozzolino
  • Massimiliano Smeriglio

From Slovakia:

  • Monika Beňová (SMER-Sociálna demokracia, or Executive Board – Slovak Social Democracy)
  • Robert Hajsel (independent)

Ten members of the left-wing group in the European Parliament voted against the resolution:

From Belgium:

  • Marc Botenga (Parti du Travail de Belgique or Workers’ Party of Belgium – a Marxist party)

From Cyprus:

  • Niyazi Kizilyürek (Progressive Party of Working People – Left – New Forces)

From the Czech Republic:

  • Kateřina Konečná (Communist Party of Bohemia and Moravia, or Communist Party of Bohemia and Moravia)

From Germany (​​DIE LINKE. party, or The Left party):

  • Ozlem Demirel
  • Martin Schirdewan

From Portugal (Partido Comunista Português, or Portuguese Communist Party – a Marxist-Leninist group)

  • Sandra Pereira
  • Joao Pimenta Lopes

From Ireland (Independents 4 Change):

From Spain:

  • Miguel Urban Crespo (anti-capitalists)

Nine MEPs not affiliated with any political group also voted against the resolution:

  • Nicolas Bay (France – Reconquest! Or Reconquest – a nationalist party)
  • Francesca Donato (Italy – now an independent but formerly with the far-right Lega Nord, or Northern league led by Matteo Salvini)
  • Marcel De Graaff (Netherlands – Forum for Democracy, or Forum for Democracy, a right-wing populist party)
  • Lefteris Nikolaou-Alavanos (Greece – Communist Party of Greece)
  • Kostas Papadakis (Greece – Communist Party of Greece)
  • Miroslav Radačovský (Slovakia – Slovak PATRIOT, which is a right-wing party)
  • Milan Uhrík (Slovakia – Movement Republika or Republic – a far-right party)
  • Martin Sonneborn (Germany – Die Partei or The Party, a satirical party)
  • Tatjana Ždanoka (Latvia – Latvian Russian Union or Latvian Russian Union, which is supported by ethnic Russians and other Russian-speaking minorities)

Leave a Comment