AFLW season opens with big showdowns and rivalry games

Season seven of the AFLW kicks off Thursday night with a clash between traditional rivals Carlton and Collingwood at Ikon Park on August 25.

The league released the league on Monday and the season will feature 10 home and away matches and be the first in which all 18 clubs with expansion sides Essendon, Hawthorn, Port Adelaide and Sydney participate in the competition.

Collingwood opens the season against Carlton on August 25.

Collingwood opens the season against Carlton on August 25.Credit:Getty Images

The opening round will also include a grand final rematch between Adelaide and Melbourne at Norwood Oval, while expansion teams Essendon and Hawthorn will kick off the AFLW edition of their longstanding rivalry and play their first game at ETU Stadium.

Indigenous Round will be held in rounds three and four, and all 18 clubs will host an Indigenous Round match. The first AFLW Dreamtime match will take place between Essendon and Richmond, and the Pride round will be crowned with a double-header at Ikon Park on round eight.

Local derbies will now also take place, as expansion clubs have competed in the competition, and will be held at the SCG, the Gabba, Optus Stadium and the Adelaide Oval.

The first two rounds have been closed, while all Saturday games in September will have a floating game to allow flexibility in scheduling double-header opportunities with the AFL men’s league.

The full fixture can be found here.

More to come

Stay tuned for the best AFL coverage in the country. Sign up for the Real Footy newsletter

Leave a Comment